I have failed today,
Yet again,
To remember the beginning and end of my day.

Sunrise after sunrise
melts into the sunset after sunset-
A candy on the tongue of a two-year-old.

I search for things to write about,
Go grabbing blind-folded,
into a room filled with darkness;
I come out empty handed.

I hold happiness in the palm of my hand,
Like a young me used to hold sand at a sea-beach.
I widen the space between my fingers
And watch it fall.

Little
By
Little
Until it’s all on the ground.

My head hurts
From the constant pressure,
A thousand bricks on my neck,
Cracking my bones.

I am tired
Of wanting each day to end
Just so that I can move on to the next.

I am tired
Of hoping tomorrow will be better
And endlessly looking for tomorrows that never come.

I am tired of breaking down
Over the smallest of things.
I am exhausted every second,
And it takes immense effort
To be excited about something.

I am tired of being tired.

print