I imagine the Sky and the Earth as lovers
When Gods ruled the world.

I imagine them
As two goddesses.
Blooming from the ashes
Of the universe’s heartbreak,
Like a sapling out of soil.

A new beginning.

I imagine them floating to each other;
Their ethereal beauty,
An immortal masterpiece.

I imagine the universe
Stopping to watch a love unfold
Into a river of light.

I wonder if one day,
The sun called the sky away.

I wonder if the Sky and the Earth
Separated
Like an ocean splitting into two-
Forever deemed incomplete.

I wonder if we are breathing
In what is left of the pain
Of the two Goddesses
Forbidden to love.

I wonder if their love was the tragic kind.

The kind Shakespeare wrote about.
The kind that transcends time,
Etched forever in history.

I wonder
If the Sky and the Earth were Goddesses
Destined to a lifetime of distance.

As I watched the sunset today,
I saw that brief mixing of the Sky and the Earth
Over the horizon,
Where it looked as if they melted into each other.

I wonder if the sunset was
the Sky’s hello,
The Earth’s goodbye,
A promise,
An apology
Before the Sun scorched the Earth
And the Sky bled in red
As she watched her lover
Burn at the hands of her kidnapper.

print