I’m off.
To bucolic towns and clear lakes
To retreats and country-sides
To that lonely cottage by the river

For dulcet strawberries and fresh pine cones
For horse-back rides and pure air
For ephemeral mimosas

I’m off
To dusty roads and packed streets
To late-night parties
To lighted bakeries

For mochas and lattes
For joy and love
For screaming out loud

I’m off
To snow-covered peaks
To breathlessness
To numb fingers

For that feeling
of jubilation
and satisfaction
and exhilaration

I’m off
And I don’t know where
But I know that I don’t belong here.
Or anywhere.

I just know I need to go.

To feed my soul.
Alone.

Author’s note: I’m sorry for the late post. I was having trouble coming up with new stuff. This was my first attempt at free verse. I couldn’t just stick to the same themes forever. I tried something different. Tell me how it was!

print