A recent TED Talk I watched made me ask myself the question: Who are we? It’s a completely valid question. Are we just a bundle of nerves and DNA that our parents gave us? Or…are we someone else, something else? Are we the blood that runs through our veins…or are we perhaps something deeper?

I believe we are something deeper. We are the books on our bookshelves, the poetry we read. The teaspoons of sugar in our tea. We are the music we listen to, the lyrics we remember by heart. We are the tears we cry, the jokes we crack. We are the strength we possess, we are the dreams we see. We are the hope we never lose, the miracles that we believe in. We are not who we were born as…we are the people we choose to become.

Everything inside us is a part of us. The heart that beats steadily is a part of us, every breath we take defines us. And it’s the insignificantly significant things that make us who we are. Because…we are more than just over-pressurized arteries and chromosomes and blood cells. We are unique, beautiful people. We are more than what meets the eye. We ARE insignificantly significant things.

PS: Do listen to Joshua Prager’s TED Talk: “In search of the man who broke my neck”. It’s one of the best TED’s I have heard, and I have heard quite a lot of them. Also, this post is short because I felt I conveyed whatever I wanted to say in the few words I wrote.

print