Apologies and Aspirations: An ode to my Heart

I’m sorry
For all the times you’ve been betrayed.
For all the bandages around your delicate
Skin
For all the shattered dreams,
The broken stars,
And for all the hurt you’ve had to bear.

I’m sorry for not listening to you,
For the scars i tattooed so carelessly,
For taking your steady beating for granted,
For everything I did and
For everything I didn’t do.

I’m sorry for the neglect.

I know the hole in you is getting bigger
I know it’s hard, hard to keep beating when
There seems no reason to.
I know it gets dark,
Clouding judgement and hope,
Testing all that keeps you going.

But you know what?

There are things meant to be broken.
No, not promises;
But some things that just happen.
And the more we go through,
The more we learn.
The more we bear,
The stronger we become.

Every inch of my body is alive because of you.
A bag of muscle that is responsible
for my entire being,
For the blood that flows in my veins,
For the feelings that make me who I am,
For the rock song inside a jumble of
Flesh and nerves.

And if you, my heart,
Can be sporadic, spasmodic,
And Volcanic all at once,

So can I.

If you can have the courage to build yourself up,
Hold yourself together,
And beat,
Even after being ruptured,

So can I.

Life is a rollercoaster.
Ups and Downs,
Twists and Turns,
Tears and Laughter,
And whatnot.

But if my heart can get through it, so can I.

Today, I speak to you as a separate entity,
Because that is the respect you deserve.
You have always been responsible for keeping me alive,
And not the other way around.

Thank you for everything.

print