When I was ten, (about three years ago), I realized something. Like every other girl, I had grown up reading fairytales. But, what do Cinderella, Snow White, Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Rapunzel, and Tiana have in common? All of the “Princesses” are rescued by a “Prince”

Now, being the naivé kid I was, went on a hunt to find a fairy tale, which did not involve a Prince. I could find none. That is when I got thinking. “Why is it, that girls always have to be saved by a Prince?” Since then, I was hooked. I started reading about strong female personalities, philanthropists, scientists, social influencers, and entrepreneurs…every woman, who had made a mark in the world. I realized, that these women are celebrated, just as much men are. The status quo and gender inequality percentages have started dropping. The world, IS progressing, changing, and developing. Then why are fairy tales the same?

The age at which girls are introduced to fairy tales is an extremely innocent age. At the time, they don’t have an understanding of what can be right or wrong. And THAT is the age, at which you should teach your girls, that they DO NOT NEED A PRINCE. They have themselves. They can do anything, that boys can do, Honestly, I don’t think that today, there is a lack of motivation for girls. However, fairy tales NEED to change.

I want to see bookshelves full of books with covers of girls in armor, with swords, arrows, and bravery. I want to see films, like “Brave” and “Frozen” be turned into books. But I know, that change starts with us.

So, I call upon every reader, to suggest a new ending, for Cinderella. We all know how it ends. But, I want to write a new one. Let me know in the comments, what you would like Cinderella to do. And my next blog will be a re-write of one of the most famous children’s classics. I look forward to hearing from you.

Please note, I am not asking for just endings. It can be any twist on the age-old book. Go and make that princess do something. But until then, adios, and goodbye.🤓

print