So, I don’t need to tell anyone about the Corona virus. Everyone is as updated on it as me. In fact, more than kids, parents are. And this is why I am writing this piece. A plea from everyone like me. A plea from all the kids.

All of us know that the virus has gripped the nation, and in fact the whole world. And one of its consequences has been that our parents have spent a lot of their time talking about the number of cases in different parts of the country. Now, try looking at it from a child’s perspective. While we want to spend some time with you, you are causing yourself headaches, worrying about how this virus is spreading.

Honestly, murmuring the number of cases in India, or “Corona virus cases in India today” being top of your Google search history, is frustrating US kids. We know you are worried, but for once, please calm down. We know you are concerned, and for a good reason, that too, but it is getting too much. The word Corona Virus is causing us to get irritated. And, in addition to that, asking us to write about a poem about how we feel about it, its not fair to us. So please, calm down.

And one more thing. I know a lot of people are actually enjoying this Lockdown. And they have all reasons to. But, some of us are not. You know why? Because if this Lockdown, actually this Corona Virus would not have happened, maybe we would have gone to school, and met our friends. Maybe I would have enjoyed my brother’s thread ceremony. Maybe one of my cousins would have gone to the US. Maybe I would have gone to play tennis for two hours, enjoying my freedom.

So, please, understand if we get frustrated sometimes. Its natural. And if we don’t like it, please don’t try to convince us that this lockdown is an amazing opportunity for all of us to spend time together. And please don’t get obsessed with the Corona virus. Because even though it is gripping the nation, for once, try and look the other way.

Sincerely,
The frustrated kids…

print